Vs. KONRAD RAAB: SCW BREAKDOWN 7.8.2020

 

SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW

 

The Gateway Arch is a 630-foot monument in St. Louis, Missouri, United States. Clad in stainless steel and built in the form of a weighted catenary arch, it is the world’s tallest arch, the tallest man-made monument in the Western Hemisphere, and Missouri’s tallest accessible building. Built as a monument to the westward expansion of the United States, and officially dedicated to “the American people,” the Arch, commonly referred to as “The Gateway to the West” is the centerpiece of Gateway Arch National Park and has become an internationally recognized symbol of St. Louis, as well as a popular tourist destination. The Arch was designed by Finnish-American architect Eero Saarinen in 1947; construction began on February 12, 1963 and was completed on October 28, 1965 at an overall cost of $13 million. The monument opened to the public on June 10, 1967. It is located at the site of St. Louis’s founding on the west bank of the Mississippi River.

Built as a monument to the westward expansion of the United States, the arch typifies “the pioneer spirit of the men and women who won the West, and those of a latter day to strive on other frontiers.” The arch has become the iconic image of St. Louis, appearing in many parts of city culture. In 1968, three years after the monument’s opening, the St. Louis phone directory contained 65 corporations with “Gateway” in their title and 17 with “Arch”. Arches also appeared over gas stations and drive-in restaurants. In the 1970s, a local sports team adopted the name “Fighting Arches”; St. Louis Community College would later (when consolidating all athletic programs under a single banner) name its sports teams “Archers”. Robert S. Chandler, an NPS superintendent, said, “Most visitors are awed by the size and scale of the Arch, but they don’t understand what it’s all about … Too many people see it as just a symbol of the city of St. Louis.”.

Here is where we find the Adrenaline Champion, Peyton Rice along with Kelcey Wallace. Coming off a loss to the Hall of Fame veteran, Matt Hodges with a wrestling move, there was nothing sneaky or slimy about it which Peyton can both appreciate and at the same time hard on herself for allowing it to happen, but one thing she does realize, this is Matt Hodges we are talking about, there is no shame losing to him. Now she needs to throw that behind her, though the feeling of failure has really come down hard trying to honor her fiancé, Alistaire Allocco after what had happened the previous week. Now she has Konrad Raab, another dangerous individual and with only a few weeks left before Rise to Greatness and not knowing who her opponent is, has her on egg shells, so she needs to have a good showing here against Raab and not trip into the biggest PPV of the year. Wearing jeans, thong sandals and a colorful form fitting short sleeve top, long sandy blonde hair hanging down and nail polished white, Kelcey behind her in jeans, open toed ankle boots, a purple halter top, hair in a half ponytail and nails polished a matter lavender, the Perfect Ten stands behind Peyton as the camera starts to record…

 

REC:

 

Carrying the Adrenaline Championship over her shoulder, Peyton looks up at the arch before turning back to the camera and speaking in her cute, girly voice…

 

PeytonCastPic-PeytonShoot3“The famous St. Louis Arch, the gateway to the West as what they call it and for someone like me, the chance to continue venturing out and elevating myself to the next level. I chose this place for one reason, sometimes we don’t see the clear passage in front of us, we need something or someone to guide us, those lost could look upon this monument and know exactly where they are. I am going to be straight and honest with you guys, I lost. I don’t have any excuses, nor would I ever make any up for it. I was angry going into the match, for what happened with my fiancé, Alistaire Allocco, when Matt Hodges faked his knee injury, or at least played it up, then tried to hurt Ali so they could have an even playing field? This is the part that really upsets me, for I could have done something about it, if anything fight for the honor of my fiancé, and simply put, I muffed it up, didn’t live up to what I should have done and we all know that I am my own worst critic, all I want to do is keep improving so that I can hang with these legends considering so many are returning. In order to do so, I can’t allow what happened at the last Breakdown happen again, not on the road toward Rise to Greatness….

NO WAY.

I hate feeling like this after a show, where I didn’t get the job done, the sense of failure, not so much for a match but what had happened to my fiancé, Ali the week before. They tell you the good guys always win, and there was a time when I passionately believed that if you follow the rules and do everything right, they would. Today, I don’t feel that way and yet, I can’t fault Mr. Hodges, he wrestled the match and caught me, and now who knows? Maybe if I survive RTG, he could be the next in line after his match with Ali for an Adrenaline Title shot. I feel a bit defenseless right now, like I can’t protect the man I am going to marry.

It’s Ricky all over again.

A few weeks ago, it was Kelcey also, what good am I, when there is no follow through?

Therefore, I have a message for you Mr. Hodges that I want you to listen to loud and clear. Last week, you caught me on the victory roll, you went out there and beat me with wrestling, nothing more. You made a point that you’re the best technical wrestler in the world, and I was able to see that first and foremost, in the ring and experience it. BUT and that is a big one, if you think that Matt Hodges has seen the last of Peyton Rice? You’re mistaken, sir. You’ve become my measuring stick. After all this crap going on with the Wonderland, I wanted this bad. It’s okay though, I brought the fight, you brought the experience, and withstanding what you did to Ali, I cannot disregard the competition and how my match ended. Congratulations Mr. Hodges, we WILL meet again, and I promise the results will be different. For now, though, I know that Ali is going to bring his “A” game to Minneapolis, show the entire SCW that while you’re the storied past? The Perfect Pack is the inspiring future.

I can’t dwell on that loss though, I am the Adrenaline Champion, and I need to remember I have a title to defend come Rise to Greatness, against who? I have no idea, hopefully I will find out tomorrow night. Time to move on to the next match. We win and lose, this is part of the game, I was beaten with a wrestling move, I can’t be mad at it, even if I don’t like the man, I can at least respect his ability in the ring. One of the true natures of this sport though is learning as you go, what you make of it, is what stands out most. For me, I admire wrestlers who come out and fight, they don’t care about records, they love the sport and constantly become inspirations for the younger generation with a no quit attitude and good manner. One man who doesn’t get enough credit for that is Konrad Raab. Here is a gentleman who comes to work every single day and punches in, ready to compete. He may win some, he may lose some, the true measure of this man though is in his heart of competition and I cannot say truer words. While I was extremely disappointed to lose to Matt Hodges last week, I was super excited to learn my next opponent would be Mr. Raab…

And come Breakdown, it will be an honor to step in the ring with him.”

 

The beautiful Peyton Rice smiles, proudly holding the Adrenaline Championship and while this is a non-title match, Peyton is looking forward to face a man she respects, who has always shown up to fight and done whatever he can to survive. Konrad is in his fifties, Peyton finds that to be awesome, he is still like a kid in a candy store, just like she is, but to go in with an expectation of being a clean fight lowers her stress. She turns and looks to the camera and speaks, Kelcey looks on….

 

“I am the first to understand trial by error, I know what it’s like to find something that sticks, maybe you just need to be yourself, though for Mr. Raab, I see someone who is still searching for his true identity in the SCW, and threw his age, while impressive, he can surprise anyone with his quickness. Mr. Raab though hasn’t always had good times in the company. It wasn’t but a year ago he was feuding with Regan Street in part with Xander Valentine and Damian Angel. Yes, the same Damian Angel who too had quite an unhealthy obsession toward me which I will admit, distracted, and cost me some matches. That was a time earlier this year I am proud is over, so as we head into the biggest PPV of the year, I meet a man who I still feel at times is trying to find who he is and what he stands for, the one thing he knows for sure?

Wrestling.

Konrad Raab is an example of someone who loves the sport, I think in many ways he still has some fears to overcome, issues in confidence, and I know exactly where he is getting at. Mr. Raab, you are a veteran and it would be disrespectful of me to just talk about you or myself, so instead I would like to address us. Sir, I was a young gal out of Arizona that wanted to be an SCW Superstar, I loved watching it when I was kid, so when I was accepted to Ante Up Academy to train, it became a dream come true, one that I was in complete and total shock. We have an opportunity not many other have or can get. Think about this Mr. Raab, imagine all the wrestling fans out there, and only about 2% of them will ever see inside the ring, that is not a lot sir. When I travel the road with this great company, I count my lucky stars, thinking to myself where would I be? As I was learning, I became afraid of reaching this plateau of the SCW. I didn’t know if I could compete with the top-level talent, so for over two years I wrestled in the UWA and EMERGE.

In hindsight, it was the right move for me.

What I find disturbing though Mr. Raab, is just how much talent you have, and yet when it comes down to executing, I think those mild insecurities hold you back some. In many ways, we are a lot alike. I have seen how hard you are on yourself after a loss, I’m the same way. Sometimes I beat myself up so much, Kelcey here needs to slap me upside the head so I can knock it off.”

PeytonCastPic-Kelcey2

 

 

“It’s true.”

 

“See, Mr. Raab, even she would tell you. Some people go really tough on you too, I have heard what they say, they do it to me too, I simply ignore it. Instead Mr. Raab, may I share some knowledge which could be super beneficial for you, go out there and do your thing. I have learned to zone out all the negativity, stay positive when it is so hard to do. I love this sport as much if not more than you, I want it to be about competition, two people going out there and wrestling, showcasing their talent, showing, and displaying why SCW is the best. That is not always the case, you have become victim of it, even had different personas to show how you feel, a form of expression.

Here’s the thing sir….

Take a good look at me, this is who Peyton Rice is IN and OUT of the ring. I am not a gimmick; I don’t act differently when I am away from the spotlight or the SCW. I have always been genuine with every person I have encountered, every competitor I have wrestled, or fan I signed an autograph or taken a picture with. I wear my heart on my sleeve and am deeply passionate about what I do. I don’t need to wear a mask, hide my identity, or have some dark or superhero persona triggered by something terrible happening or a repressed memory like you which makes you dangerous, never knowing who is going to show up to the ring, but I have the utmost faith in the world that you sir, are going to be the same Konrad Raab who has been wrestling his soul out for so long here in the SCW and not some Black Ice or something else.

I have always believed in the saying, to each their own.

I respect you and you do the same for me.

Now we come down to the truth though, the sum of what everything here means, and for us it is momentum. For me, I know that I will be defending the Adrenaline Championship at Rise to Greatness against an unnamed challenger, a win by you over me could spell it Konrad Raab. The possibilities are endless and I need to have that monkey off my back from last week, if I lose here I lose any little momentum I have left and that could spell a lot of trouble for me. As for you sir?

Win there, and that is a huge statement for the booking committee with just three weeks away from RTG.”

 

Peyton knows that she is a little under the gun right now, losing as a champion is never a good thing, so she needs a good showing and even a huge win over Konrad who is always at his best, a gamer in the ring looking for a huge win. Peyton understands this could be a trap match, so she is ready for anything. Pacing a little, Kelcey knows how hard this lost shook Peyton, it was more about honor and Ali than anything, it wasn’t a normal lose, this one was personal, but a win here with Raab would put her back on track for RTG. She turns back to the camera and speaks…

 

“There is no question, I want to face the Iceman at his best, and I feel like right now that is exactly what I am getting. What Mr. Raab and I need to do is put all distractions behind us and concentrate on the match at hand. Mr. Raab, with all due respect, I want you to know that I have every intention of coming out the victor. Without a question of a doubt, you will bring everything to this match and I welcome it, but after last week, I need to go out there and not just be better than you sir, I need to be better than me. I saw what Kelcey and the rest of the Perfect Pack went through in recent weeks, and I know that you have seen it too, much like your issues with the Damron’s. Tomorrow night though is not about any of that, instead it is about two great wrestlers who love this sport to go out there and put on a showcase of talent for the fans and the superstars alike. With the influx of new and returning talent, it is more important than ever now to evolve, stay on my toes and pick up the pieces, don’t let it bother me and move on to the next challenge and this is one I have come to appreciate for I know that deep in my heart, Mr. Raab wants the same thing I do….

A fair fight.

You and I are both on the same page, we both are well aware what is at stake and what we want, which is why we are going to tear the house down. But Mr. Raab, your anger issues, everything that you think is a hindrance to you, black them out, we don’t need that here, I am not your enemy. Mr. Raab, instead I am your opponent and the competition. If you are able to beat me, I will shake your hand and ask to give you a title shot against me at RTG….

…. But I can’t allow you to beat me sir, or I will be failing myself, my fans and this woman standing next to me, my mentor. Let us go out there and show them what a wrestling match is all about Mr. Raab. Bring everything you have, because I promise, you will need it. Just remember one thing, no matter the outcome, when that match is over, I want you sir to forever remember one thing, you went up against a woman who is looking to do more than just exist in a world of giants….

I will continue to climb the ladder to the very top with each bump and bruise, win or lose, setback or triumph, proving time and time again….

Peyton Rice?

Is not just another “Pretty” Face.”

 

Brushing her hair back some, she looks into the camera and smiles, holding up the Adrenaline Championship. Kelcey cracks a smile and nods, supporting her protégé and knowing she is ready to bounce back on the road toward Rise To Greatness….

 

 

FADE TO BLACK

 

/REC

Leave a comment