Vs. LA BANDIDAS: BREAKDOWN 5.20.2020

Diary Entry

5.15.2020

 

PeytonCastPic-PeytonShoot2Tomorrow is a huge day for both Alistaire and myself, we are having a little private and informal engagement party, the chance to celebrate with our closest friends and family, share our joy and love for one another. What a difference does a few months make? Here I was almost going nuts on how bad things were in and out of the ring, and while my dad and I are still not talking, everything else seems to be coming together. I hate it though I can’t share these awesome experiences with him, I wish he would just talk to me. In the meantime, though winning the Adrenaline Championship, defending it successfully at Fatal Fortunes and having Alistaire propose to me right before Cold Blooded was a shock, and a very happy one at that.

I love Ali, he has been there for me since day one. Sure, we have our little quirks, but I find them both funny and cute, not too many times can a girl say that about a guy. In SCW though, I feel so much more confident, with RTG season just a week away after Taking Hold of the Flame, is like WOW, that is all I have to say about that. It will be my first time competing in the event, with Ali who won it last year, so proud of him and with tomorrow looming, I feel like the best is yet to come.

Now I remember why I wanted to come to SCW. Aaron Blackbourne is getting a World Title shot, Owen is one half of the Tag Team Champions, I am Adrenaline champ, Ali is going to do great things, it looks like Kelcey did make a difference….

And it was the perfect time for her to come back….

Because without her, I don’t know if I would be in this position. 

XOXO

 

 


 

 

THE PARTY

 

Alistaire always felt as somewhat of an outsider to the band of brothers and sisters that have gravitated around each other in SCW: Peyton Rice, Owen Cruze, Aaron Blackbourne, and Kelcey Wallace. To a certain degree, he almost felt as if he was only included as an extension of Peyton. Now, he respected every name on that list. He admired their integrity. But the competitive side in him couldn’t help but ache when he had been bested in recent memories by Owen taking away the SCW World belt from him and Aaron ousting him to earn a shot at that very same title. Alistaire felt cheated, despite knowing for certain neither man cut any corner but simply showed up with their best efforts. A disconnect existed between rational thought and emotional impulse. An internal war embroiled Alistaire but he tried his best to stay honorable, to remain supportive. After all, Aaron and Owen shook hands and showed respect. They were a collective of talented wrestlers with good hearts, the Avengers of the SCW universe. Owen and Peyton formed the nucleus, Alistaire almost lamented himself as a side kick.

But his bond with Peyton had proven to be stronger than ever, battle tested and hardened. During one of their rare spats, Alistaire realized that there was no other woman he would rather be with for the rest of his life than Peyton. So he got down on one knee, proposed to Peyton. His hands shook, consciously vulnerable to rejection, and waited for a few moments of contemplation in Peyton’s eyes. When she said ‘yes’, a wave of relief washed over him. Bliss never tasted so sweet. With that hurtle thankfully out of the way, Alistaire set his eyes on strengthening his relationships with not just Peyton, his now fiancée, but also her friends and allies, including Owen and Aaron. He wanted her friends to become his friends, for their worlds to be interconnected.

To accomplish that, Alistaire proposed an engagement party to celebrate, welcoming their friends in the company into their most important decision.

 

Maggiano’s Ballroom

Downtown Los Angeles

4.16.2020

 

After the last Breakdown, Alistaire invited everyone to dinner. He figured since they were all gathered as part of the same tour, an engagement party would be easy. Some additional guests that Peyton wanted invited had to fly in. The steakhouse had a decent sized ballroom to rent, more than enough to host the party. They even had a waitress especially assigned to meet all their needs for the evening. A sizable check kept the kitchen opened late to accommodate. Alistaire arrived early, wanting to assure that all the arrangements went as scheduled. He donned a white button up shirt and a pair of khakis. Not too formal, not too relaxed. After checking in with the kitchen staff and introducing himself with the waitress, Alistaire took up a battle station at the ballroom’s entrance to shake everyone’s hands and thank them for their company tonight.

To no surprise, Konrad Raab arrives first to the restaurant; he’s Alistaire’s only personal invitation. Konrad Raab immediately shakes Alistaire’s hand.

 

PeytonCastPic-AlistaireAlistaire: “Konrad, my good man.”

Konrad: “Alistaire. Thank you very much for inviting me to this dinner. Means a lot to me.”

Alistaire: “I couldn’t exclude you from the list. You’re the first in mind to invite. I hope all is well with the wife and the child.”

Konrad: “Baby Alistaire has your fight in him. I named him well.”

Alistaire: “I never thought I would have had a child named after me. I’m still overwhelmed by it. It really is an honor, Konrad. I promise that your son will have a namesake worth having. It’s been a rough few weeks, for you, so why not kick back and relax. Order anything you want to drink. It’s on me.”

 

Konrad smiles as he glances over the table.

 

Konrad: “I assume you’re sitting at the head of the table next to Peyton?”

Alistaire: “We do have an announcement to make.”

Konrad: “Don’t tell me she’s carrying your child.”

 

Alistaire laughs abruptly at the guess. He pats Konrad on the side of the arm.

 

Alistaire: “I’m a religious man. No sex before marriage. Surprised you didn’t know that. People in SCW typically enjoy mocking my virginity. But soon, that might all change.”

PeytonCastPic-KonradRaabKonrad: “I didn’t mean any offense.”

Alistaire: “None taken.”

Konrad: “I’m claiming a seat right by you, good sir. Dying to catch up with you. We’ve been too busy as of late.”

Alistaire: “Of course.”

 

As Konrad leaves to take a seat, Aaron Blackbourne comes into the room. On his arm is Liane. Aaron greets Alistaire with a smile, but the grin seems forced. They shake hands, hard grip from both men respectively. They have spent considerable time together in recent weeks, but there is an unspoken tension in the air between the two men. Alistaire hopes tonight would dispel that feeling.

 

Alistaire: “Aaron… Aaron… future SCW World Champion, Aaron Blackbourne, ladies and gentlemen.”

Aaron: “Every time you say that, makes me feel guilty.”

 

Alistaire blinks. Aaron whispers something in Liane’s ear and she proceeds ahead. Aaron then steps up beside Alistaire, his shoulder touching Alistaire’s.

 

Aaron: “This is embarrassing. I don’t want you to think that I’m a total softy or I’m someone who questions my place in this sport, because I’m neither but a little bit of me hates that I had to earn this shot at your expense.”

 

Alistaire bites down hard. He hangs his head to one side for a moment, trying to calculate his response.

 

Alistaire: “Since we’re being honest. I can’t lie and say that I’m not upset that you’re challenging for the title, not me. But you earned it. You really did. Now, don’t think because you had to pin Gavin Taylor to get past me cheapens the win. I had the same opportunity as you. You reached up and grabbed the brass ring. I didn’t.”

PeytonCastPic-AaronAaron: “That’s the truth. But-“

Alistaire: “I hold no ill feelings for you. Whatever jealousy I might have, it’s the healthy sort. Your win over me makes me more eager to go out there and prove that I’m really am the best. Do me a favor. Win. Defeat Bree.”

Aaron: “Oh, I plan on that. Don’t you worry. I’m not going to hold back.”

Alistaire: “Remember, you showed yourself worthy of being at the top the way you battled James Evans a few months back. When you get down to brass tacks, Bree’s great and she might have defeated James, but you’re better. All that hard work and discipline has paid off. This is your moment. And don’t worry, I’ll be waiting for you at Rise to Greatness when I win that ridiculous battle royal again.”

 

Aaron nods. He takes Alistaire’s hand, brings his elbow up to Alistaire’s chest. Both men share that embrace before stepping back.

 

Aaron: “You better win. There is no one I would rather share the main event of Rise of Greatness than you.”

Alistaire: “Be careful what you wish for. You might have had my number before, but I’m best when the lights are the brightest.”

Aaron: “Just bring it.”

 

Both men dispense with soft laughter. Aaron turns and meets the eyes of Liane. He motions his head towards her before running off and joining her at the table. Konrad and Aaron immediately strike up a conversation. Alistaire sucks in a deep breath of air and let’s go. The tension between Aaron and him seems to have been drastically reduced. Petty maybe, Alistaire considered Aaron’s reservations as a consolation prize. At the very least, Aaron’s guilt demonstrates the respect he had as Alistaire as an equal in the ring.

Jenni, Owen, and Peyton all walk through the door together. They probably carpooled over. The widest smile forces itself to show underneath Alistaire’s bulbous nose. His dark eyes soak in all of his fiancée’s beauty. Peyton’s figure mysteriously dances underneath a black sundress, wedge sandals swell her height. She enters, in mid-conversation with Jenni, who appears to have gone all the distance with her tight dinner dress and pumps.

Peyton steps forward from the group…

 

Alistaire: “You never cease to amaze. You’re so darn beautiful, Peyton.”

PeytonCastPic-PeytonSHOOTPeyton: “Don’t ever stop complimenting me, Ali. I mean it. Keep it up, we’ll live happily ever after.”

Alistaire: “I doubt there will ever be an exhaustion of excuses to compliment.”

Peyton: “My my, Ali. Thought hard on that one, didn’t you?”

 

Alistaire blushes slightly. He waves his arm, trying to disarm that suspicion.

 

Alistaire: “I came with that one on the spot. Believe it or not.”

Peyton: “Maybe my wit is rubbing off on you.”

Alistaire: “Doubtful. I’ll never be as quick as you.”

Peyton: “Practice makes perfect. Soon, you’ll be a linguistic treasure like me.”

 

Peyton leans forward. She teases a kiss on the lips but settles with a peck on the cheek. For some reason, the gesture arrives as a token of endearment. Alistaire appreciates her momentary breaks into the realm of cuteness.

Owen steps forward now. Alistaire offers his hand, pushing past the tension he feels between his colleague and himself. Owen, after all, had stopped Alistaire’s run at the top and also stole his Yearly honors. Still, deep down, Alistaire loves the man. Owen has character. While Alistaire sees room for Owen to grow, for someone as young as him, he manages his success pretty well. Jenni steps up besides him. Alistaire nods in acknowledgement of her. Alistaire and Jenni have only met in passing at Owen’s residence.

 

PeytonCastPic-OwenOwen: “Aren’t we blessed? Two wonderful women at our sides.”

Alistaire: “I can’t help but feel like the luckiest man in the world sometimes. But how about you? Tag Team Championships. With Blake Mason of all people.”

Owen: “Took a little bit of luck but a lot of skill to pull off that heist.”

Alistaire: “You and Aaron both should go to Vegas. I kid. I kid. Please don’t waste your money on gambling.”

Owen: “Okay, mom.”

 

Alistaire shakes his head at the jab. Owen smiles victoriously before taking Jenni by the hand.

 

Owen: “Now if you excuse me, Ali. These legs are a little sore. I’m gonna take a seat. Open bar, I hope?”

Peyton: “On my insistence. If it were up to Alistaire alone, this would be a bible reading not a party.”

Alistaire: “I can have fun too, babe.”

Peyton: “Sure. When we’re ready for some wholesome activities, it’s all up to you. You’ll make a perfect father to our children. But right now, we’re all adults and we have some adulting to do.”

 

Alistaire rolls his eyes. He watches his fiancée lead her friends to the long table. Jenni and Owen sit directly to the right of Peyton’s seat, across from Konrad. Jenni seems to wave over the waitress, and moments later, a few bottles of wine appear. The server fills everyone’s glasses, including Alistaire’s.

Zendiya, one of Peyton’s besties, walks in alone. Soon after, Kelcey Wallace and Scott Cannon both enter the room to fill out the guest list. Scott Cannon and Zendiya greet Alistaire with brief hellos before heading to the table. Kelcey lingers behind. Her sharp bright eyes gauge Alistaire, enough for Alistaire to feel slightly uneasy in her silent presence. While Kelcey has made herself available to Alistaire as a mentor, there doesn’t seem to be much of a more personal aspect in their relationship. Kelcey always seems all business to Alistaire, a schoolteacher lecturing a student. He notices her demeanor changes with the other in their collective.

 

PeytonCastPic-Kelcey2Kelcey: “You do know what you’re signing up for, don’t you, Ali?”

Alistaire: “To spend the rest of my life with the most wonderful woman that God has ever made.”

Kelcey: “If you hurt her, there’s hell to be had. You have to protect her too. That’s what marriage is all about.”

Alistaire: “There’s no doubt in my head. I’ll sacrifice everything to protect her.”

Kelcey: “Then what about your father?”

Alistaire: “There might have been a time I panicked, and I failed her. I vow to never again let her down. I decided that I’m on this Earth for two reasons: to love her and to wrestle.”

Kelcey: “But what’s more important: Peyton or wrestling? You don’t have to answer that now.  But I think you should at least wonder about the answer to that question. There might be a time where you have to make a tough decision.”

Alistaire: “My love for Peyton trumps all.”

Kelcey: “That’s easy to say now, but when it comes time to choose…”

Alistaire: “I get your concern. I really do. You love Peyton. You want nothing but the best for her. You’re good to her. But I’m telling you, there’s nothing more that I want in this life than to provide Peyton with never ending happiness.”

 

Kelcey hums as she nods, looking Alistaire up and down one last time. Without issuing another word, she approaches the table. At the far end, she sits across from Scott. Alistaire, having mentally checked off the guest list, takes his seat at the head of the table, besides Peyton. Menus have been distributed to the partygoers. Orders were then taken. Conversations, deep discussions and raucous laughter kept the volume of the ballroom high. Everybody spoke with such ease, greased by the wines paired with every course. A few times, Alistaire sat back and took the scene all, taking a snapshot of happy times among good company.

This felt right.

Before desert, Alistaire clangs a fork upon the wine glass to get everyone’s attention. All eyes turn to him. For a moment, he experiences a flashback to the days where all the eyes of the huddle were on him for the play call. This play call is the biggest of his entire life. There’s no audibles to be had.

 

Alistaire: “We invited you all this evening to celebrate our engagement. For some of you, you might not know, but I have asked for this amazing woman’s hand in marriage. I want to let you know, Peyton, it fills me with immense pride to be standing by your side. Every day since I met you has been special. I am blessed to have someone as incredible and strong in my life, who can lend themselves to be a harbor in the toughest of storms and also be the warm bright sun on the most pristine of days. You are the light of my life. You are my best friend, my soul mate, and soon to be my cherished wife. I have never met someone before that I felt so willing to grow grey and old with, until I met you.”

 

Alistaire, having lost himself in his impassioned speech, finally realizes the silence that followed. Kelcey on the far table arrives for the rescue, starting a slow clap that everyone else soon joins in after. Peyton stands up now to join Alistaire.

 

Peyton: “Wow, this is so awesome, to have you guys here, are closest friends and family. It has been a journey this past year, I know most of you have been there with us, since it started. I really didn’t know what was going to come out of my life when I came to the SCW, I mean, I came here to compete and then I met him. When I first laid my eyes on Ali, I thought he was handsome, debonair, very well spoken, he seemed so genuine but with wrestling you never know if it is an act or not. It didn’t take long for me to see it wasn’t, this is who Ali is. It’s hard not to fall in love with him, and trust me, there were some tough times, that even I didn’t know I would pull through, yet he was there for me every step of the way. Ali, you made me believe again, that there are good, genuine people here and I found the best of them all. You are my rock, Alistaire, the light to my darkness, my everything and I can’t wait to spend the rest of our lives together. I love you.”

 

 Once again applause sounded. Alistaire looks over at Peyton, teary eyed and a little flustered. The way she moves him on an emotional scale overwhelms Alistaire as someone who came from a testosterone ridden background. Alistaire reaches down and lifts up his wine glass. Everyone follows suit, looking towards him. For the first time, he feels truly accepted by this group. Maybe the sense of being an outsider simply was his mind playing tricks.

 

Kelcey: “To the couple, may the best of days still await them.”

 

And then they toast….

 

A Few Hours Later

 

After the engagement party, Peyton had taken off her shoes, wearing the black sundress and thong sandals, her long straightened sandy blonde hair hanging down, nails polished white, after a few drinks and spending some time with close friends, it was a fun evening, and while all Peyton could think about was her father, she wasn’t going to let that out, only Owen, Jennifer and Kelcey knew about her situation, she didn’t know how Ali was going to take it, had decided to keep it under wraps but was feeling guilty about it, this was the man she was going to marry, trust needed to be established, they must have an open and honest relationship, yet even Peyton didn’t know if Alistaire would see it wat she did in the past, the same way, trying to make money for to support her father, Ray didn’t get it, why should she suspect him too as well. As they drive back to Owen’s, Peyton sits quietly in the passenger seat, the windows rolled down enjoying the cool air. As they approach the beach, she turns to Ali and points to the parking lot overlooking the ocean as they start to head up the hills….

 

Peyton: “Stop there, Ali.”

Alistaire: “Are you sure, it’s kind of late.”

Peyton: “Afraid of the dark?”

Alistaire: “No… no… of course not.”

Peyton: “Okay then, park over there, let’s take a walk on the beach.”

Alistaire: “Okay… that sounds nice.”

 

As he pulls the car into the parking lot, the cool breeze and sounds of the waves crashing, give a peaceful and serene atmosphere, after their party, it seemed perfect for the engaged couple. Peyton left her heels in the car, it was only a few steps to the sand from the door of the vehicle, she hops and giggles some. Alistaire follows, hands in his pockets after slipping off his shoes as well. They hold hands, making it down to the waters edge, splashing some on their feet…

 

Alistaire: “It’s cold.”

Peyton: “No, it’s perfect, you’ll get used to is baby, don’t worry. We need to get you used to more romantic walks on the beaches, it’s a thing these days.”

Alistaire: “Oh is it now.”

Peyton: “Yes t is. I had a lot of fun tonight.”

Alistaire: “Me too, it’s not usually my thing but it was fun seeing everyone there. I wanted to ask you something, and I guess this is good time as any.”

Peyton: “I wanted to tell you something too.”

Alistaire: “You first.”

Peyton: “No, please you first, I insist.”

 

She gave him those puppy dog eyes, and he couldn’t resist. As they held hands and walked on the beach, the water splashing on their feet, it seemed like the perfect moment for both which had Peyton nervous, she wanted to come clean with Alistaire, tell him what was going on yet Peyton was scared to death. She didn’t think Ali would understand, though she knew it was the right thing to do. The question now was, what did he want to tell her?

 

Alistaire: “I wanted to talk to you about your father.”

 

Her head swiveled quickly toward, him, wide-eyed, she started to shake some, felt a pit in her stomach, did he already know what was going on…

 

Peyton: “Ali, I can explain…..”

Alistaire: “It’s okay, I know that we have been busy with travel and all, haven’t really properly sat and chatted with your dad, really haven’t done much at all with Mr. Rice since we started dating and well, I want to do this right.”

Peyton: “Come again?”

Alistaire: “Your father, I want to sit down and talk to him, have a really nice conversation. Get to know each other, I feel like he knows nothing about me, and I know nothing about him except what you’ve told me. I’m excited about this, like tonight, sharing it to the world was a pretty awesome feeling.”

Peyton: “No Ali, you are pretty awesome and don’t let anyone tell you differently. So, what exactly are you saying?”

 

She was relieved to hear this, for a moment only thinking the worse when he mentioned her father. Alistaire was such a gentleman the entire tonight, it was a moment where Peyton felt loved and not since Ricky did, she ever has that emotional attachment. At first, it frightened her to the core, Peyton felt like it maybe not fair, for Alistaire that she couldn’t open like that anymore, especially after losing Ricky last year. Her relationship with Ali grew, to a point she couldn’t think about not being with him, she couldn’t wait until the night they made love after the wedding, with a warm and inviting smile, Peyton leans in and kisses him….

 

Peyton: “So, my dad.”

Alistaire: “Yes… yes! Sorry, was off track there. I want to formerly ask your father if I may have your hand in marriage, I need his blessing, I want him to know how serious I am about you. This is something I have waited a long time for also, I never thought that I would ever have met you and then know a year or so after you came to the SCW, we would be engaged. I remember the first time I saw you, Rise to Greatness a few years ago, I could see it then, the type of person that Peyton Rice was, loving, humble, dedicated and sweet.”

Peyton: “Ali, you are hitting on all cylinders tonight. First the party and now here, showering me with compliments, I mean wow, a girl can never get enough. As for my dad, I need to explain something, alright?”

Alistaire: “Is everything alright?”

Peyton: “Come here babe…”

 

Grabbing his hand, she leads him up the beach a little and away from the water, sitting down, where she digs her toes into the soft and cool sand….

 

Peyton: “Nothing makes me happier than knowing you want to have a relationship with my father. One of the most important things to my marriage is the interactions between you and dad, that is what I wanted with your dad….”

Alistaire: “That is not possible, especially after what happened with the Russians.”

Peyton: “Yeah, unfortunately there are a lot of things that your dad has done that I can’t overlook anymore. I think the Russians were the straw that broke the camels back. I want to try Ali….”

Alistaire: “No, it is unforgivable.”

Peyton: “He may have done some really bad and shitty things, but he is still your father, Ali.”

Alistaire: “What he did we cannot come back from. All the little things he has done, there was still hope that he could stop, and things would improve but that never happened. And then this? Kidnapping you and….”

 

She could see that he was getting angry and that was never her intention, tonight was perfect, and the last thing Peyton wanted was to ruin it talking about Adam Allocco. The memories of her being drugged and abducted always were there, she tried to forget them more than anything, now worrying about more her father and the broken relationship that even she doesn’t know if they can come back from, not hearing from her father in weeks, not knowing that his little girl is engaged, an Adrenaline Champion, anything for that matter….

 

Peyton: “No…. no… listen to me baby, let’s stop talking about him, alright? This has been the best night and I am not going to ruin it talking about your dad. One day, things may chance, just remember that I will never make you choose.”

Alistaire: “You didn’t have too either; it was never a choice.”

 

That brought a smile to her face, realizing just how much they cared for one another. She wanted to hug and kiss him right there, but they needed to talk, this was about him wanting to meet her father and ask him for her hand in marriage….

 

Peyton: “That means a lot Ali, it really does but I need to tell you about my father. Just knowing what you are willing to do, like the true man you are, brings a smile to my face, unfortunately right now though my father and I are not speaking.”

Alistaire: “Wait, what!? Is it me!?”

Peyton: “No… no baby it has nothing to do with you, it has everything to do with me. I angered my dad with some choices I made when I was younger, he was injured, couldn’t work anymore, and so I did some odd jobs to make extra money and ….. and….. “

 

She tried to say it, but it wouldn’t come out, the words were not resonating, she was frozen, not able to respond any, it was like she tried to speak, nothing was formulating…

 

Alistaire: “Pey?”

Peyton: “yeah… Ali…. I…. I don’t; know how to tell you this….”

Alistaire: “It’s okay. You can tell me anything.”

Peyton: “Okay, well…. So, I…. I dropped out of school and didn’t tell my dad. Started working at a couple of places that he didn’t approve of like being a waitress at a local dive diner, that sort of thing. I was truthful with him as he thought I was in school the entire time and it angered him; I was not being very honest with my dad. He was also dating a woman who I used to also work with, when I told him that, he wasn’t too pleased about it all, my dad doesn’t like being lied too, he hates it to the core and at the time I was a young girl, fresh out of high school, my sister and mom were gone, I didn’t know who to turn to or what else to do, my only thought was survival and making sure that my dad was okay and taken cared for. I understand why he is mad; I really do. I just wish he would call me back; it hurts….”

 

She started to wipe a tear forming in her eye, Alistaire caught it and instead, his warm hand caressed her face. Peyton didn’t want to get emotional in front of him, after the great night they were having. There was also the point of telling him why he was really angry, why Ray Rice stopped talking to his only daughter who cared for him while Rhiannon was running around getting in trouble. She placed her hand over his….

 

Peyton: “He is angry with me right now Ali, I miss my dad and I wish he would answer his calls, I want to tell him so badly that now I am engaged, I want you to go out to Arizona and have that talk, share a drink, catch up, you would love my dad and I know he would love you. I will make it happen, to be able to go right up to hm and ask for my hand in marriage. I promise you.”

Alistaire: “Maybe I should talk to him alone.”

Peyton: “Ali, trust me alright, we are going to make right of this. My father won’t stay angry at me forever, he knows what I did was for the betterment of our lives, alright? Instead I rather sit here just the two of us, feel the wind, the sounds of the waves crashing, your body next to mine. Can we do that? Cap off the night the right way?”

Alistaire: “Yes, we can.”

 Peyton: “My dad is not only going to approve; he is going to know that you’re the best thing to ever happen to me….”

 

She leans in gently kissing Alistaire on the lips, as she leans back into the sand, bringing him down to her, raising her long leg, resting it on his shoulder as they continue to kiss…

Peyton didn’t want this to end, it was another reason she didn’t feel comfortable telling him, at least not now. If her father reacted that way, what would Alistaire do? This was a night that she would always remember, it was perfect, Kelcey Wallace would have said the same thing, ending on the beach in the arms of the man she loves, and who he loves….

Nothing could ruin it….

Not tonight….

Not ever.

 

SCENE FADES

 


 

 

Diary Entry

5.16.2020

 

PeytonCastPic-PeytonShoot2I can barely keep my eyes open; I am so sleepy. Ali is in the shower right now, he is staying the night with me here at Owen’s, the perfect ending to a perfect day. I love him more now than I did before because this totally feels right. There was one thing missing though and that was my dad, which still hurts that he won’t talk to me. I found it so chivalrous when Ali wanted to talk to him about having my hand in marriage, it was so heroic, and yeah, it is totally cheesy but this is my diary and I can say what I want in it. I think that this reminded me of why I needed to move on, when I lost Ricky it hurt so much, I never thought that I could love again. I hope that he is not looking down at me mad, it wasn’t that I was able to get over Ricky, no.

I will never get over Ricky.

He is in the past now, and will always be in my memories, those when I think about smile. At the same time though I made some pretty big mistakes and promised myself that I would NEVER do those again especially with Ali. I know that I didn’t tell him everything about my dad and the argument we had, one day I will be honest with him and pray that he understands and just how long ago that was. One of the things that I hope moving forward with Ali is we grow with each other and accept our strengths and weaknesses. To me, this tag team match we are having on the next Breakdown will be good for us, give Ali and I a chance to trust one another in the ring and take the leap of faith so many couples are afraid to do.

After tonight though, I have no doubt what we are doing is the best for both of us, he is always there for me when I need someone, and I always be there for him. We all need to take the leap once in a while, which is why Ali and I are strong individuals…

But stronger together!

XOXO

 

 


 

 

 

AN “ENGAGED” TAG TEAM

 

The Scene Opens…

 

Mission Santa Clara de Asís is a Spanish mission founded by the Franciscan order in the present-day city of Santa Clara, California. The mission, which was the eighth in California, was founded on January 12, 1777. Named for Saint Clare of Assisi, the founder of the order of the Poor Clares and was an early companion of St. Francis of Assisi, this was the first California mission to be named in honor of a woman. It is the namesake of both the city and county of Santa Clara, as well as of Santa Clara University, which was built around the mission. This is the only mission now located on the grounds of a university campus. Although ruined and rebuilt six times, the settlement was never abandoned, and today it functions as the university chapel for Santa Clara University. Here is where we find Alistaire Allocco and Peyton Rice. The two are now engaged, it happened right before Cold Blooded, where the young wrestlers decided to spend the rest of their lives together. Peyton won the Adrenaline Title at the PPV, defeating Jordan Majors who was on a hot streak the last few months prior and is now tangled with Sienna Swann in some way shape or form. For the young Rice though, it was a statement, and while Alistaire is disappointed he didn’t receive a World Title shot at Taking Hold of the Flame during Fatal Fortunes, he has entered the match he won last year and Main Evented Rise to Greatness, winning the World Championship. Now the two get to team up as a tag team for the first time, they were part of a Trios Team for the Tournament but this will be a first, an engaged couple and they will be facing one of the premiere tag teams in the SCW…

Las Bandidas de Gata Negra.

Peyton knows a little about these ladies, Maria Vencejo and Peyton teamed together on Fatal Fortunes defeating Jay Gold and Tommy Valentine. Valeria Garcia of course used to be Ruby who teamed with Scarlet Gray, a woman that Peyton had a lot of history with last year when she mocked Kelcey Wallace. Peyton was ready for any challenge and with Alistaire as her partner, a man she trusts with her life, there is nothing that could get in their way, while the Bandidas are an established tag team, Peyton and Alistaire are a couple who would do anything for each other. Standing in front of the mission, Ali with jeans, a polo shirt and dress shoes, Peyton in red pants, a tight long sleeve floral top and thong sandals, nails polished white, long straight sandy blonde hair hanging down with the Adrenaline Title over her shoulder, the two face the camera as it starts to record.

 

REC:

 

Alistaire motions Peyton to start, she smiles, looking into the camera and speaking in her soft, girl voice…

 

PeytonCastPic-PeytonShoot3“Between Cold Blooded and Fatal Fortunes, we have had a lot going on. I said that I was going to walk into the PPV and leave with the Adrenaline Championship, that was no disrespect toward Jordan, I had my eyes on the prize, tired of things always going awry, all these distractions that I finally had enough. I left with the title and plan to make the best of this championship I hold, where at Fatal Fortunes, I faced off against Scarlet Gray again, a woman who we have had our few rounds last year and Kandis, someone I know all too well from my EMERGE days, where we faced off at RTG a few years ago, an experience I will never forget. Their attitudes aside, these are two women who one day will be wearing singles gold. I also pulled double duty and earlier in the night, I faced off with my tag team partner, Maria Vencejo, defeating Jay Gold and Coach Tommy Valentine, two legends in the ring. It was an exciting three weeks for me, and while I am disappointed in a couple of people and their responses, I need to just let it roll off my back and enjoy the time I have here doing what I love with the man I love, my fiancé, Alistaire Allocco. One of the great things that I get from the SCW is the travel, this time in San Jose, we are at the Mission Santa Clara de Assis, a historic monument here that has stood the test of time and is the landmark of the city. With Taking Hold of the Flame coming upon soon, Ali and I are focused on one thing, bringing it home. Last year he walked away the winner and was in the Main Event, where there are many who have not been there. I get to be in my first ever which is truly exciting, but before we get to that and the start of Rise to Greatness season, we must face Las Bandidas de Gata Negra. The Black Cat Bandits translated in English. Maria Vencejo and I met up close and personal, we worked great as a tag team a few weeks back, it led us to victory, which in many ways surprised me, I didn’t know what to expect considering her tag team partner was once heavily involved with Scarlet Gray, that being Valeria Garcia, aka Ruby. This division has always been hot and heavy in the SCW. The teams vying for the title are some former World Champions, showing just how important it is for all those involved, Ali and I never thought about doing it ourselves, but this is a nice change of pace, one that gives us a chance to work together and show off some magic against one of the better teams here and future tag team champions.

This is a unique opportunity for both of us, Alistaire and I are competitors first and foremost, this is what we love to do is wrestle and for me especially, I have never been much in the tag team scene, it’s a nice change of pace. I don’t think it is any secret that I have upped my game since coming here, there have been good and bad times, funny though how a year and a half quickly flies by, with a Television and Adrenaline title under my belt, but this is also about Ali. He didn’t get the World Title shot at Taking Hold of the Flame, our good friend and stablemate, Aaron Blackbourne did, which we are both so happy about, but again that is in a few weeks, right now our sole focus is on the Bandidas.”

 

Peyton glances over at Alistaire who winks, she cracks a smile and leans over, kissing him on the cheek. The gorgeous Rice lets out a small giggle, turning back to the camera, and her mood quickly changes. Peyton has never been more focused in the SCW, Kelcey and Alistaire have helped her so much on the journey she has taken. Brushing her hair back, she addresses the Bandidas…

 

“Maria and Valeria, in the ring I have nothing but total respect for your skill, this is what I want, to be able to step inside the squared circle against the best in this company. Ali and I are embarking on new territory, he has a little more experience in it than I do, but he knows that I am the best partner he could have. I know that you two ladies are looking to establish yourselves for a tag team title shot, I get it, and a huge win over us will catapult you right to the top, but let me stop you there for a second, because I need you to understand that while we may not have a horse in the race inside the division, we are still coming to win, get some momentum and carry it into Taking Hold of the Flame. This is when it counts the most, when people start seeing what you do to position yourself for Rise To Greatness. Last year? I was on the Pre-Show, this year I will be on the Main Show with Alistaire and the very best this company has to offer. I am not sitting on my laurels, I wasn’t lucky becoming the Adrenaline Champion, I beat one of the hottest commodities in this sport even if she can’t say the words congratulations to me, because honestly?

I’m used to the egos here.

It was those same egos that dampened my spirits, the attacks, the underhanded tricks, the bad attitudes, that both Ali and I became numb to it. All I see now is what I need to do as a Wrestler and as a woman who wants to succeed like Ali, Owen, Aaron and so many others, this is the love of the sport which drives me. Maria, I saw that in you, teaming up, we put whatever differences and philosophies we had and put them aside, we walked right into that match and defeated two legends, one of them taught me how to wrestle, that meant a lot so thank you, but that is the beauty of this business, one week we are teaming, the next week we are opponents and while I know Valeria from her previous persona, I also know just how dangerous she is, because I have already been in the ring with her. I know the lengths she’d go for victory. I’m going to let both of you ladies in on a little secret, Ali and me?

Are ready for anything.

We are professionals, and just the fact that I am teaming with my future husband means so much right now, that we get to experience this together, that I know facing one of the best teams in this company is a challenge we train for. I know it sounds cliché, but this is why I love being in the SCW. I came here to accomplish one thing, to be the very best I can, I don’t want to be perfect or flawless, I don’t think I am unbeatable, I have experienced plenty of let downs these past six months. Instead ladies, this is another rung on the ladder, another chance to show Sasha and the board they do have wrestlers, not just entertainers or people who use this platform for their own gains. This is where you two need to ask yourselves one question…

Are you ready for what we are bringing?

I have seen what you two can do, I have experienced it all on my own and now I get the chance to go from teaming up with Maria, from facing Valeria one on one, to seeing just how fluid, how great the Bandidas are…

And just how determined we are to walk out the winners. Ali?”

 

She turns to Alistaire who nods, this time the young former Two-Time World Champion gets his chance to speak. Peyton is fired up, excited for what comes these next few months and it seems for her this is the last stop before The Flame. She wants to impress, Alistaire does too and this is more than just a match, it is a chance to walk into the PPV on a high note. Alistaire clears his throat and speaks….

 

“You’re asking how determined we are to leave Wednesday night as victors? Oh, determined is an understatement. We’re bent on winning.”


Alistaire rolls his shoulders while issuing a confident smile…


PeytonCastPic-Alistaire“At Trios Tournament, I promised I would not let Peyton down. Tag team wrestling might be a fun activity for two friends to pair up and do, but for us. It’s more than a fun activity. It’s a testament to our relationship. At Trios, I failed Peyton when I couldn’t bring home the prize. This week, I plan on rectifying that loss. My battle cry then is the same now, for Peyton. For Peyton, I offer up this match as evidence that I will always be the most dependable, most trustworthy, most supportive partner in your life. Las Bandidas de Gata Negra, while I recognize that you two are a sound team with the experience advantage in this match, you don’t have the relationship that Peyton and I share. Our bond is unbreakable. This might be only the second night we’re teaming together, but we’re more than ready, more than capable. Breakdown a display of strength for all the other teams in SCW will have to acknowledge, we’re the power couple in SCW. There’s no doubt about that, not up in here—”

 

Alistaire pauses for a moment to point towards his skull. Then he shifts to a hand on his chest, right over his heart as if he’s making the pledge to allegiance….

“— And here. We’re battle-tested in more ways than you’ll ever know. The things we have had to endure to stay as a couple has made us ready. We’re stronger than we have ever been. We’re a great team, not only in that ring but also outside in our street clothes.”

 

Alistaire looks over at Peyton to get confirmation. She nods, smiling wide….


“Now, in my Football days, I always heard the coach say, ‘one game at a time’, but every season we start, aiming for the top. Dreams are what make us human. While I won’t get caught looking past any set of opponents, I’m aspiring for bigger and better things. Bandidas de Gata Negra are a perfect origination point of our climb up the tag team rankings. If all goes well, a win will surge us closer towards a date with our good friend, Owen Cruze, and his partner Blake Mason. We have to start somewhere, and Bandidas de Gata Negra is that somewhere.”


Alistaire reaches out and pulls Peyton in for a half hug, pressing her directly against his body in front of the camera…

“I’m talking about relationship goals! While we will be not the first couple to take over the tag team division, nor will we be the last, I know it’s my goal and I know it’s Peyton’s goal to win, win, keep on winning until we reach the very top of the proverbial mountain. Together, we can do it. Don’t believe us? Just you wait.”


Alistaire reaches out with two fingers, motions to his eyes than to the camera…

“Watch us as we become the couple everyone wishes they were. Breakdown is new beginning for us, the start of another chapter of our storied romance. You’re all cordially invited to join us as we commence this journey through the tag team division.”

 

Peyton and Alistaire turn to one another, she then glances into the camera with her jaded green eyes, and smirks….

 

“And that ladies are the reasons why? We are not just another Pretty Face.”

 

The two of them smile, before giving each other a kiss Alistaire and Peyton are excited about this opportunity and nothing is going to get in their way of victory. This is a huge test for both, but everyone knows that they are ready for anything.

 

 

FADE TO BLACK

 

/REC

Leave a comment